close window  

Freedom Riders honored, 2011

Fourteen Freedom Riders receive a standing ovation at the screening of the PBS documentary Freedom Riders. Facing the audience from left to right are: Rep. John Lewis, Rep. Bob Filner, Rev. Reginald Green, Joan Mulholland, Dion Diamond, Joan C. Browning, Moses Newson, El Senzengakulu Zulu, John Moody, Wyatt Tee Walker (in second row), Theodore Gaffney, Catherine Burks-Brooks, Claude Reese and Doratha Smith Simmons. House Minority Whip Steny Hoyer of Maryland is standing at the far right.

[Courtesy of the National Endowment for the Humanities]

©2010 ABC-CLIO. All rights reserved.